Renault engines secure 200th F1 pole in Korea

© Renault Sport F1, 13 October 2012
© Mark Thompson/Getty Images/Red Bull Racing

Red Bull's Mark Webber secured the 200th pole for Renault engines in Formula 1 with a superb lap round the Korean International Circuit on Saturday.

The Australian’s dramatic pole position now makes Renault only the second engine manufacturer in F1 history to record a double century of pole positions.

The Losange’s first pole was achieved back in 1979 at the South African Grand Prix when Renault made its first foray into F1 with the V6 engine. Since then, some 22 drivers have contributed to the roll of honour, including eight world champions. Six of them recorded their first ever pole positions with Renault power, including Ayrton Senna and Alain Prost, and six also went on to win world titles with Renault.

The total is split fairly evenly between the different Renault engine configurations, with 50 achieved by the V6 turbo (1977-86), 44 by the 3.5 litre V10 (1989-94), 53 by the 3.0-litre V10 (1995-97 and 2001-2005) and 53 by the 2.4-litre V8 (2006-2012).

Jean-François Caubet, managing director of Renault Sport F1, commented, "Reaching 200 poles is a milestone in our F1 history. Looking back on our involvement in the sport, in the first years of the turbo I don’t think anyone would have thought we could reach this figure! Over time, the team in Viry has worked to develop each of the different engines produced, from V6 to V10, to make each as quick and reliable as they can. We are proud of our achievement and would like to thank all our partners and Renault-engined drivers who have contributed to this achievement."


© Renault Sport F1

First Ever Renault Pole, Jean-Pierre Jabouille, South Africa 1979
Jabouille had been a key part of Renault’s F1 adventure form the very start, giving the car its debut at Silverstone in 1977. In 1978 the programme stepped up a gear, and with the RS01 Jabouille qualified as high as third in Austria and Monza, two tracks where top speed played a major role. By 1979 Renault was ready for a full campaign with two cars as Rene Arnoux joined the line-up. In only the third race of the season in South Africa Jabouille earned Renault’s first pole, and the first ever for a turbo car, ahead of the Ferrari of Jody Scheckter. He retired from the race, held over two parts because of rain. In the course of the season he would take three more poles and secure the team’s first win on home ground in France.

© Renault Sport F1

First Ever Alain Prost Pole: Germany 1981
Alain Prost made his debut with McLaren in 1980, and after scoring points in his first race he endured a tough season with an often unreliable car. He then earned the chance to join Rene Arnoux at Renault in 1981. Arnoux had already been with the team for two years, but Prost soon emerged as a major force. He scored his first win on home ground in Dijon and qualified second in Argentina and Britain before securing a personal landmark with his first pole at Hockenheim. Although he led the race he eventually finished second to Nelson Piquet’s Brabham. Prost would go on to log 23 poles with Renault power, and won his fourth world championship with Williams in 1993.

© Renault Sport F1

First Ever Nigel Mansell Pole: US Dallas 1984
Nigel Mansell arrived in F1 with Lotus in 1980 after Colin Chapman saw some potential in his countryman. He first hooked up with Renault with Lotus in the second half of 1983. The following year the 95T proved to be very competitive, Mansell finishing third in France and leading in Monaco before crashing out. Then on the crumbling street track in Dallas he did a stunning job to take his first pole position, ahead of teammate Elio de Angelis and the works Renault of Derek Warwick. Mansell led the first half of the race before losing the lead to Keke Rosberg. Three laps from home his gearbox failed, and after attempting to push his car across the line, he was classified sixth. Mansell, who earned a total of 18 poles with Renault power, would win the world championship with Williams in 1992.

© Renault Sport F1

First Ever Ayrton Senna Pole: Portugal 1985
Ayrton Senna burst onto the F1 scene with Toleman in 1984. He quickly established himself as a star of the future before moving to Lotus for 1985. It was obvious that the Renault-powered 97T had a lot of potential, although the opening race in Brazil brought retirement. However second time out with the team in Portugal, and in only his 17th F1 race, he secured his maiden pole position, ahead of Alain Prost’s McLaren. Race day proved to be wet, and Senna put in a virtuoso performance, dominating the afternoon to record his first win as many big names struggled to stay on the track. In total the Brazilian would log 18 poles with Renault power, first with Lotus and later Williams.

© Renault Sport F1

First Ever Fernando Alonso Pole: Malaysia 2003
Fernando Alonso made his debut with Minardi in 2001 before spending a season as Renault’s reserve driver, alongside Jarno Trulli and Jenson Button. In 2003 he graduated to a race seat, and made an impact almost immediately, taking pole in the second race of the season in Malaysia. Alonso duly led the first 13 laps before pitting. He lost out to Kimi Raikkonen at the stops, and later lost second place to Rubens Barrichello, but still managed to secure third place and the first ever podium finish for a Spanish driver. Later in the season he scored his first win in Hungary, and in 2005 and 2006 he would win the world championship with Renault, logging a total of 16 poles with the manufacturer.

© Renault Sport F1

First-ever Red Bull pole: China 2009
Red Bull and Renault joined forces for the 2007 season; chief technical officer Adrian Newey keen to revive his connection with Renault engines – a partnership that had yielded multiple championship successes during his time with Williams. In the first year, David Coulthard and Webber secured 16 top 10 starting positions, with the maiden podium coming at the European Grand Prix. In 2008 the partnership became regular points’ scoring contenders, but in 2009 Webber and the newly-signed Sebastian Vettel really came to the fore as challengers for the podium. After a slow start the duo were invincible in China, with Vettel securing pole position by one tenth of a second and Webber third.


Poles by Engine Type
1.5 V6 Turbo (1977 – 1986) 50
3.5 V10 (1989 - 1994) 44
3.0 V10 (1995 - 1997 and 2001 - 2005) 53
2.4 V8 (2006 - 2012) 53
Renault Poles by Drivers
Sebastian Vettel 33
Alain Prost 23
Damon Hill 20
Nigell Mansell 18
Ayrton Senna 18
Fernando Alonso 16
Rene Arnoux 14
Jacques Villeneuve 13
Mark Webber 11
Jean-Pierre Jabouille 6
Riccardo Patrese 6
David Coulthard 5
Michael Schumacher 4
Elio de Angelis 3
Jarno Trulli 2
Giancarlo Fisichella 2
Patrick Tambay 1
Thierry Boutsen 1
Heinz-Harald Frentzen 1
Gerhard Berger 1
Jean Alesi 1
Pastor Maldonado 1
Renault Poles by Teams
Williams 80
Red Bull 44
Renault (France) 31
Renault (Enstone) 20
Lotus 19
Benetton 6

Want to be the fastest to lap up F1 content? ‘Follow’ us on TWITTER and ‘like’ us on FACEBOOK.




Nike Air 1999 Jordan 5 Fire Red size 8.5 DScheap jordans for sale2008 NIKE AIR JORDAN COUNTDOWN PACK COLLEZIONE CDP 16/7 MULTI COLOR SIZE 11cheap jordans for saleNike Air Jordan Retro 6 VI GMP Gold Medal Size 12cheap jordans for saleAir Jordan Retro XIII 13 Low Midnight Navy/Hornets 310810-107 Size 10 No Boxcheap jordans for sale(937) 100% Authentic Nike Air Jordan 21 Playoff Sz 13 White/Black/Redcheap jordans for sale2003 Nike Air Jordan I 1 Retro Black Patent Metallic Gold sz 9cheap jordans for saleNike air foamposite pro pure platinum Jordan Size 12 PADS Retro 1 3 4 11 13 Bredcheap jordans for saleNike Air Jordan Flight Runner 2 Black Red 8 New in box NIBcheap jordans for saleNIKE AIR JORDAN RETRO 1 HIGH OG "SHADOW" SOFT GRaY/BLACK 555088 014 men SZ 10.5cheap jordans for sale