The Cooper team earned 16 race wins, 11 pole positions and 14 fastest laps |  The team has 58 podium places to its credit |  In 1959, Brabham and Cooper Car became the first driver and the team to win the Formula One World Championship in a rear-engine car.


Name: Cooper
Founded: Charles Cooper, John Cooper
Headquarters: Great Britain
No. Of Races: 129
No. Of Wins: 16
No. Of Poles: 11


The Cooper Car Company was a British team that raced in Formula One for nine years between 1950 and 1969. It has had 129 Grands Prix starts and won back to back constructors’ titles combined with both the drivers’ titles as well, in 1959 and 1960.
The Cooper Car Company was founded in 1946 by the father-son duo of Charles and John Cooper, and John's childhood friend, Eric Brandon. They started off by building racing cars in Charles' garage in England. They achieved remarkable success in the 1950s and early 1960s in Formula One. Moreover, they were partly responsible for setting up the foundation for a successful racing industry in the country, which continues to exist even today.
Until the later 50s, Cooper achieved most of its success in Formula Two and Formula Three. In 1957, the team got its first major breakthrough in Formula One when Jack Brabham won the year’s Monaco Grand Prix in a Formula 2 Cooper. In the following season, Stirling Moss won the Argentine Grand Prix and Maurice Trintignant won in Monaco both in rear engine Coopers. This marked the beginning of the rear engine revolution.
1959 saw the British dominating the sport as Cooper clinched its first Formula One championship, BRM won its first race, and Jack Brabham won the drivers’ title in a Cooper. The team took over from where its British counterparts Vanwall left off by winning five races out of nine that season. In 1960, it replicated the feat dominating other teams, with Jack Brabham winning five consecutive races in his Cooper. The team finished with a healthy lead over its rivals in the constructors’ standings as well, managing to defend both its titles successfully. It was also the last Formula One season to have an Indianapolis 500 race, and the last season which saw a victory by a front engine car.
When all the other teams also started building rear engine cars, Cooper was unable to match the technological advancement of bigger teams such as Ferrari, Lotus and Lola, and thus started its downfall. When John Cooper was gravely injured in a road accident in 1963, the team went into further disarray, and was eventually sold in 1965 after the death of Charles Cooper. The team won only three races after its title winning campaign in 1960; Pedro Rodriguez won the last grand prix for Cooper in 1967 at Kyalami. Thereafter, the team withdrew from Formula One after some dismal performances in 1969.
Born in a small town garage in England, the Cooper Car Company was the brainchild of a father and son, who realized their dreams of winning Formula One races, and world championships through their constant endeavour. Notable drivers such as Stirling Moss, John Surtees and Jack Brabham raced for the team making it a force to reckon with in the 60s. Unable to live up to its top billing, the team exited the sport eventually, but not without leaving its indelible mark on the Formula One history.

-Rohhan Divanji
  • GPs
Year Driver GPs Wins Poles Podiums FLs Points
1950 Harry Schell 1 0 0 0 0 0
1952 Alan Brown, David Murray, Eric Brandon, Ken Wharton, Mike Hawthorn, Reg Parnell 6 0 0 1 0 0
1953 Adolfo Schwelm Cruz, Alan Brown, Bob Gerard, Jimmy Stewart, John Barber, Ken Wharton, Peter Whitehead, Rodney Nuckey, Stirling Moss, Tony Crook 7 0 0 0 0 0
1954 Bob Gerard, Eric Brandon, Horace Gould, Peter Whitehead 1 0 0 0 0 0
1955 Jack Brabham 1 0 0 0 0 0
1956 Bob Gerard 1 0 0 0 0 0
1957 Bob Gerard, Brian Naylor, Dick Gibson, Jack Brabham, Mike MacDowel, Paul England, Roy Salvadori, Tony Marsh 5 0 0 0 0 0
1958 Andre Guelfi, Brian Naylor, Bruce McLaren, Christian Goethals, Dick Gibson, Francois Picard, Ian Burgess, Jack Brabham, Jack Fairman, Maurice Trintignant, Robert La Caze, Roy Salvadori, Stirling Moss, Tom Bridger, Tony Marsh, Wolfgang Seidel 10 2 0 5 0 31
1959 Alessandro de Tomaso, Bruce McLaren, Chris Bristow, Colin Davis, George Constantine, Giorgio Scarlatti, Hans Herrmann, Harry Schell, Henry Taylor, Ian Burgess, Ivor Bueb, Jack Brabham, Jack Fairman, Mario Araujo Cabral, Masten Gregory, Maurice Trintignant, Mike Taylor, Peter Ashdown, Roy Salvadori, Stirling Moss 8 5 5 13 5 53
1960 Alfonso Thiele, Arthur Owen, Bruce Halford, Bruce McLaren, Carel Godin de Beaufort, Carlos Menditeguy, Chris Bristow, Chuck Daigh, Gino Munaron, Giorgio Scarlatti, Giulio Cabianca, Harry Schell, Henry Taylor, Ian Burgess, Jack Brabham, Jack Fairman, Keith Greene, Lucien Bianchi, Mario Araujo Cabral, Masten Gregory, Maurice Trintignant, Olivier Gendebien, Pete Lovely, Phil Hill, Piero Drogo, Roberto Bonomi, Ron Flockhart, Roy Salvadori, Stirling Moss, Tony Brooks, Vic Wilson, Wolfgang Seidel, Wolfgang von Trips 9 6 4 14 5 64
1961 Bernard Collomb, Bruce McLaren, Hap Sharp, Ian Burgess, Jack Brabham, Jack Fairman, Jackie Lewis, John Surtees, Lorenzo Bandini, Massimo Natili, Masten Gregory, Maurice Trintignant, Renato Pirocchi, Roger Penske, Roy Salvadori, Walt Hansgen 8 0 1 1 1 18
1962 Bernard Collomb, Bruce McLaren, Hap Sharp, Ian Burgess, Jackie Lewis, John Love, Mike Harris, Tim Mayer, Tony Maggs 9 1 0 7 1 37
1963 Bruce McLaren, Jo Bonnier, John Love, Mario Araujo Cabral, Tony Maggs, Trevor Blokdyk 10 0 0 4 0 26
1964 Bruce McLaren, Edgar Barth, Jo Bonnier, John Taylor, Phil Hill 10 0 0 2 0 16
1965 Bruce McLaren, Jochen Rindt, John Love, John Rhodes 10 0 0 1 0 14
1966 Chris Amon, Chris Lawrence, Guy Ligier, Jo Bonnier, Jochen Rindt, John Surtees, Joseph Siffert, Moises Solana, Richie Ginther 9 1 1 6 2 35
1967 Alan Rees, Guy Ligier, Jacky Ickx, Jo Bonnier, Jochen Rindt, John Love, Joseph Siffert, Pedro Rodriguez, Richard Attwood, Silvio Moser 11 1 0 2 0 34
1968 Basil van Rooyen, Brian Redman, Jo Bonnier, Johnny Servoz-Gavin, Joseph Siffert, Lucien Bianchi, Ludovico Scarfiotti, Robin Widdows, Vic Elford 12 0 0 2 0 14
1969 Vic Elford 1 0 0 0 0 0
Total   129 16 11 58 14 342


According to stats...

  • The Cooper team earned 16 race wins, 11 pole positions and 14 fastest laps
  • The team has 58 podium places to its credit
  • In 1959, Brabham and Cooper Car became the first driver and the team to win the Formula One World Championship in a rear-engine car.


Most successful teams to have raced with Cooper
Ferrari (228)
McLaren (182)
Lotus (81)
Brabham (35)
BRM (17)

Nike Air 1999 Jordan 5 Fire Red size 8.5 DScheap jordans for sale2008 NIKE AIR JORDAN COUNTDOWN PACK COLLEZIONE CDP 16/7 MULTI COLOR SIZE 11cheap jordans for saleNike Air Jordan Retro 6 VI GMP Gold Medal Size 12cheap jordans for saleAir Jordan Retro XIII 13 Low Midnight Navy/Hornets 310810-107 Size 10 No Boxcheap jordans for sale(937) 100% Authentic Nike Air Jordan 21 Playoff Sz 13 White/Black/Redcheap jordans for sale2003 Nike Air Jordan I 1 Retro Black Patent Metallic Gold sz 9cheap jordans for saleNike air foamposite pro pure platinum Jordan Size 12 PADS Retro 1 3 4 11 13 Bredcheap jordans for saleNike Air Jordan Flight Runner 2 Black Red 8 New in box NIBcheap jordans for saleNIKE AIR JORDAN RETRO 1 HIGH OG "SHADOW" SOFT GRaY/BLACK 555088 014 men SZ 10.5cheap jordans for sale